Thicker Than Blood by Madeline Sheehan and Claire C. Riley

2015/01/img_2640.jpg

Book Description:
A true friendship never dies.

Leisel and Evelyn lost everything. Husbands. Families. Friends. Lives that made sense. All they had left was each other, and a friendship that could withstand anything…

Even an apocalypse.

Until one fateful night, the marginal safety they’d come to rely on comes to a vicious and brutal end. With the help of Alex & Jami, both unlikely allies, Leisel and Evelyn are able to escape their shattered sanctuary only to find themselves face-to-face with a much altered, much crueler life where they have to find the way—and the will—to stay alive in a world they no longer recognize.

Traveling across a broken and infection-ridden country; the road-weary group are pitted against endless violence, improbable circumstances, and the ultimate loss.
Everything comes at a price—especially safety, the cost of which could very well strip them of the one thing they’ve tried so hard to cling to: their humanity.

Yet along with all the trials they’re forced to endure, there’s also hope in the form of love. Having loved Leisel from afar, Alex attempts to put the pieces of her fractured heart back together.

But in such a savage world, is there room for love?

In a place of nightmares-made-reality, where the living should be feared far more than the dead, an unbreakable friendship and a love amongst all odds can mean the difference between life and death.

There are friends…

And then there are Leisel and Evelyn.

Giselle’s Review:

Why is it that zombie apocalypse related novels always draw my attention and manage to make me fall in love with them, but also hate them a little bit because they tend to break my heart?

So as a huge fan of The Walking Dead, an anticipator of the zombie apocalypse so I can test my survival skills and kick some ass, (I know, judge me), this book completely consumed me.
Thicker Than Blood can’t really be placed in the category of books I usually read, but being familiar with Madeline Sheehan’s writing, thanks to the Undeniable series, I knew I had to pick up this book ASAP.

The story of two best friends- soul sisters, living in this world where the uninfected are as dangerous as the infected, is one that every drama and suspense lover will not be able to put down.

The friendship between Leisel and Evelyn is such a strong and unique bond, and one that I found hoping I would one day have. The relationships, both good and bad, that they experience with other characters in this novel are so well-executed and powerful.

My heart broke so many times when I read this novel, but not in a completely unbearable way because Leisel and Evelyn’s friendship gives this underlining of hope throughout the novel.
All in all, Thicker Than Blood is a novel I would recommend to any horror/zombie apocalypse lovers and anyone looking for a unique and all-consuming read.

Ps. Fans of Jamie McGuire’s, Red Hill, most definitely need to pick this one up!

1-click it HERE!

Leave a Reply